The Norwegian political system is divided into three democratic levels: National (parliament/government, Storting/regjering), regional (counties, fylker) and local (municipalities, kommuner). A county municipality (fylkeskommune) is a public elected body with certain responsibilities regarding public administrative and service tasks within a Norwegian county.

The County Council (fylkesting) is the main body of each county municipality, and typically consists of 30-50 members. Members are distributed into standing committees and an executive board (fylkesutvalg). The Chairman of the County Council (fylkesordfører) is the leader of both the council and the executive board.

The County Executive (fylkesrådmann) is responsible for a secretariat consisting of different sections with responsibilities for various county-level activities and services.

Not part of the County council, but situated in each county on behalf of the Norwegian government, is the County Governor (fylkesmann). He/she represents the Government in every county, serving as a supervising authority over the county and municipality administrations.


County-level activities and services

The County Council’s main responsibilities are:

  • Education (e.g. upper secondary schools)
  • Health care and social services (e.g. dental clinics)
  • Industrial/business development (e.g. travel/tourist industry)
  • Regional planning (e.g. Regional Development plan Agder 2020, visit its website here. NB! Norwegian language only)
  • Transport and communications (e.g. county roads)
  • Cultural activities (e.g. including cultural and sporting arenas)


av Ingunn Østby, publisert 21. september 2016 | Skriv ut siden